a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v | w | y | z



The section of Buddhist scriptures concerned with philosophical, cosmological and psychological analysis.
An explanation of the appearance of all phenomena. E.g. the parts of our personality as five accumulations (skt. Skandhas), the origins of perceptions (skt. Ayatanas) and the basic elements of existence (skt.: dhatus). Abhidharma is one of the Three Baskets.





Accumulations, Two

Positive impressions or merit - e.g. from meaningful actions - and wisdom have to be connected in a inseparable way on the Buddhist path.


In a general sense it means acting for the benefit of all beings. In an ultimately sense the spontaneous and effortless acting of a Buddha for the benefit of all beings.




Almighty Ocean

[Tib. Gyalwa Gyamtso, Skt. Jinasagara] Red, sitting four-armed form of Loving Eyes in Union.


A general Buddhist altar consists of several groups of objects. Most important are the three objects representing Buddhas body, speech and mind. They constitute a basic altar. The first of these objects is a statue of Buddha or of a Bodhisattva. It is placed in the center. Second object is a sacred text. It represents Buddhas speech, is wrapped in maroon or yellow cloth and is placed on the left side. On the right side of the altar a Stupa as a symbol of Buddhas mind is located. For all of these objects pictures may be used as substitutes.
In addition pictures of Buddhas, Bodhisattvas, Lamas and Protectors can be arranged around these three objects.

In Diamond Way Buddhism the central aspect is the Lama or Teacher. Around him other Buddha aspects, the so-called Yidam and Protectors can be arranged.

The second group concerns offerings. In most cases seven bowls are used. They contain offerings made to the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas. The bowls are arranged in a straight line and contain (from the left to the right as one faces the altar):
  • Bowl with water to drink (represents the purity of mind)
  • Bowl with water for washing (represents the purity of the body)
  • Rice and flowers (represents the beauty of sight)
  • Rice and incense (represents the pervasiveness of the Dharma)
  • Candle (represents illumination: darkness is ignorance, brightness is wisdom)
  • Fragrant water (represents devotion)
  • Rice and food (fruits or sweets) (offered as a gesture of gratitude)
  • Sometimes a conch shell or a Ting-shag is offered (represents the awakening of beings hearing the Dharma)

As a third group Tormas, Dorje, Bell, a crystal ball and other objects can be used. Either permanently ore only during special rituals. The altar should be on a higher place.


The Buddha of Limitless Light.


[tib. Tse pa me] The Buddha of Boundless Life.


The highest of the four levels of Diamond Way teachings.


One who has "conquered the enemy", that is, "the emotions and ignorance that keep one locked in Samsara". The Arhat represents the goal of the Theravada tradition, one who has experienced the cessation of suffering, the state of liberation.


Highest realization in  Theravada. Calm state of mind, in which complete liberation from suffering of the  conditioned world is accomplished.


Demi-Gods of the desire-realm are called Asuras.



[Tib.: rig pa, rang rig]: The ability of mind to experience, to be conscious. This is the inner facet of every perception in it?s pure form. Synonym with wisdom.

a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v | w | y | z